Blog  |   Contact Us  |  Login  |   Join

KCA Excellence Award

Posted on Jul 12, 2012

The KCA Excellence Award

The Kenyan Community Abroad (KCA) Excellence Award is an annual award that recognizes Kenyans with outstanding accomplishments. It is a competitive process that starts with nominations, followed by an informed campaign period where members provide grounds for their candidates’ nomination, and a secret ballot that elects the winner. Call for nominations are announced during the first quarter of the year. KCA recognizes the power and significance of this award, and it is our goal to maintain its honourable place through a fair, non-partisan process.

Recipients of the Excellence Award include:

1997 - Vitalis Musebe and Isaiah Kabira for their high standards of professionalism and sacrifice in covering the SABA SABA brutalities of 1997 while working for the Kenyan Television Network (KTN).

1998 - Police Inspector, Joel Kipkemboi Sang,the Jogoo-Road based traffic policeman for his impartial and fearless enforcement of the rule of law, amidst reckless disregard of the same   within the police force and across the entire spectrum of the Kenyan leadership. 

1999 - James Orengo for his consistency in championing the rule of law and promoting democracy while Kenya struggled through the transition to multiparty politics.

2000 - Professor Kivutha Kibwana, for his efforts and clarity in informing and entrenching the structure for constitutional reforms in Kenya.

2001 - Professor Wangari Maathai, for her dedication to Kenyan people in the struggle for justice, equity, fair play and protection of the environment.

2002 - Hon. Charity Ngilu, for her exemplary role in the transformation process that brought about the peaceful change of power in the 2002 elections.

2003 - Asunta Wagura, Executive Director Kenya Network of Women with AIDS (KENWA), for her heartfelt and open fight to restore dignity to HIV-AIDS infected persons.

2004 - Hezekiah Nyaranga for his selfless work in feeding, schooling and providing emotional support to orphaned children in Kisumu through the Reachout Centre.

2005 – John Githongo, for his whistleblowing efforts that exposed high-level corruption in Kenya and in the process catapulting the fight for economic justice and political accountability.

2007 -   Dr Shem Ochuodho, a KCA founding member, for his role in the establishment and development of ICT in Kenya and Rwanda

**2008 - 2011  -- no awards were given